Portugal

In the 2018 Index of Economic Freedom Portugal scored 63.4 points and occupied the 72nd place in the ranking. The country’s overall score grew by 0.8 due to the dramatic changes in fiscal health and government spending, which offset the decrease in property rights and business freedom. Portugal ranks 35th among 44 European states, with its total score being below the regional but above the global average.

International trade is one of the main factors contributing to the development of the Portuguese economy: exports exceed imports by 21%. Standard custom duty rate is only 1.6%. However, some restrictions on imports and exports are imposed, and situation in financial sector remains unstable. Non-performing loans ratio is still high.

6 simple steps to purchase a company

  1. choosing a country

  2. choosing a bank

  3. payment (by any method)

  4. sending documents

  5. company registration

  6. bank account opening

Main advantages

  1. The least in the EU share capital required to obtain a residence permit (by incorporating a company or increasing the capital of an existing one)
  2. A foreigner (even without residence permit) may be the founder and the owner of a company
  3. Rapid registration (takes 2 days)
  4. One of the lowest tax rates in Europe
  5. Opportunity to carry out business activities in free trade zones: Madeira, the Azores
  6. Free movement within Europe
  7. No corruption: Portugal ranked 29th in the Corruption Perceptions Index, ahead of Spain, Italy, Israel, and China
  8. Portugal is one of the top 10 safest countries
  9. With regard to goods and services, good value for money is offered

Types of companies

The following types of companies can be established in the country:

  1. Public joint stock corporation (company) — Sociedade Anónima (S.A.)
  2. Private limited liability company — Sociedade por Quotas (Lda.)
  3. Individual Limited Liability Establishment — Estabelecimento Individual de Responsabilidade Limitada (E.I.R.L.)

Registration procedure

The name of a newly established company shall be checked in the National Registry of Collective Enterprises (Registro Nacional de Pessoas Colectivas, RNPC). If it is available, it may be reserved for up to 48 hours, provided the special fee is paid. In addition, the company’s name can be chosen from pre-approved ones, which are listed in RNPC.

To obtain a registration certificate, founders of the legal entity shall submit an application followed by the articles of association and the certificate of the name approval within a maximum of 15 days from incorporation date. Upon receipt of the aforementioned documents, the local authorities will deliver the corporate tax number, the company’s social security number, and declaration for commencement of business. The organisation’s employees must be registered in Centres for Company Formalities (Centros de Formalidades das Empresas) or Commercial Registry Offices 24 hours prior to starting their work or not later than 10 days after declaring the initiation of business activities.

The Labour Inspectorate shall as well be notified of the establishment of the new company. Registration services for employees’ accident compensation insurance are available via the internet from private insurers and do not cover non-wage workers.

Taxation

Portugal is neither offshore nor mid-shore, with the tax rate being relatively high.

Corporate income tax (IRC, Imposto sobre o Rendimento das Pessoas Colectivas)

This tax is payable only by resident companies. However, it is levied on their worldwide income, including profits earned by subsidiaries and other permanent establishments. Moreover, capital gains are also subject to IRC and therefore taxed at the same rates.

Tax Computation:

  1. Standard corporate income tax rate — 21%.
  2. Municipal surcharge — 1.5%.

State surcharge — progressive rate is adopted: 0%, on income below EUR 1.5 million; 3%, on income between EUR 1.5 million and EUR 7.5 million; 5%, on income varying between EUR 7.5 million and EUR 35 million; 9%, on income above EUR 35 million. Thus, the maximum rate is 31.5%, provided that the company’s income exceeds EUR 35 million.

Capital gains tax

As noted previously, there is no such tax in Portugal, or, to be more correct and precise, capital gains are included in the profit which is subject to corporate income tax.

Operating losses

Under current legislation, operating losses may be carried forward for future periods (5 years maximum) if and only if they do not exceed 70 percent of the taxable profit. In some cases, carryforward is allowed only if authorized by the Minister of Finance, that being an irreversible process.

Dividends

Dividends are exempt from taxation if paid and received by resident companies. For this exemption regime to be applicable to a particular enterprise, the following conditions must be fulfilled: dividend recipient is not a transparent entity and holds at least 10% of the dividend payer’s share capital (for at least 1 year).

Value Added Tax (VAT; Imposto sobre o Valor Acrescentado, IVA)

Value Added Tax is levied on the supply of goods and services, on their import (in case if the country of origin is not an EU member), on international services delivered in Portugal, and on intra-Community acquisition of goods in the country from another EU members. The local legislation provides for the following VAT rates: standard (23%), intermediate (13%), and reduced (6%).

VAT refund is available only for non-resident companies carrying out taxable supplies within the country. This issue is quite challenging, so it is recommended to seek further consultation from our experts. The VAT returns are submitted either monthly (in case if the turnover is equal or higher than EUR 650,000) or quarterly (if the turnover is less than aforementioned amount)

Monthly VAT returns shall be filed by the 10th business day of the month following the reporting period, whereas quarterly returns are due by the 15th business day.

Passive income tax (taxation at source)

Passive income traditionally encompasses dividends, interest, and licence fees, e.g. royalties. There is no any special tax to be levied on such income, so the latter is included in the profit which is subject to corporate income tax (in the case of individuals — personal income tax, or Imposto sobre rendimento das pessoas singulars, IRS). The amount to be paid depends on the taxpayer’s status and the type of income.

Passive income tax rates:

  1. Dividends and interest obtained by a non-resident company — 25%
  2. Dividends and interest obtained by a non-resident entity whose country of residency is a listed tax haven — 35%
  3. Royalties paid to a non-resident enterprise — 25%
  4. Technical services — 25%

Full exemption from the tax is possible in cases provided for in the EU directives and bilateral agreements on avoidance of double taxation.

Reporting

In accordance with the local legislation, a large part of commercial companies is obliged to file annual financial statements either electronically or in paper form. The amount information to be published varies depending on the entity’s assets, turnover, number of employees, fields of activities, and legal form.

Financial statements reporting is regulated by the Commercial Code and other normative instruments.

International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) are permitted for use by all companies, but small businesses may choose between IFRS and national standards.

Financial statements are filed with the Commercial Registry (officially referred to as “Information disclosure system”), which is administered by the Portuguese Institute of Registries and Notary.

Reporting is obligatory for:

  1. Public companies
  2. Limited liability companies
  3. Companies listed on the stock exchange

Financial statements of commercial entities shall be presented within four months once the financial year is closed. Three months’ time is set aside to hold the meeting of shareholders, which is to approve the statement, and one month is provided in order to carry out the filing procedure itself.

Late reporting is penalised with a fine of up to EUR 5 million or dissolution of the company.

Complete annual report includes:

  1. financial statement
  2. directors’ report
  3. confirmation statement by the company’s officials (confirms that the information provided earlier is correct and up-to-date)
  4. notes
  5. information on legal review of accounts
  6. supervising authority’s opinion
  7. audit report

Financial statement includes:

  1. balance sheet
  2. profit and loss report
  3. notes

Essential points

In Portugal, the tax year corresponds to the calendar year, However, resident companies have an important privilege: they may adopt other tax accounting period by submitting the relevant request to the Ministry of Finance (sufficient reason shall be provided).

Corporate income tax must be paid within 5 months following the end of the tax year. Interim payments are required in the 7th, 9th and 12th months of the tax year.

Net financial costs are allowed as tax-deductible expenses, but only up to the greater of the following thresholds: EUR 1 million or 30% of earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation.

If you have any questions, please fill in the contact form below, and we will reply as soon as possible

Португалия

Экономика Португалии находится на 72 месте среди самых свободных в Индексе 2018 года. Общая оценка выросла на 0,8 балла за счет критических изменений денежного благополучия и показателей государственных расходов, уравновешивающих уменьшение прав собственности и возможностей для бизнеса. Португалия занимает 35-е место среди 44 стран в регионе Европы. Ее общая оценка ниже территориальной нормы по сравнению с нормой в мире.

Международной торговля – один из основных компонентов развития экономики Португалии; экспорт превышает импорт на 21%. Обычная ставка таможенной пошлины составляет всего 1,6%. Несмотря на это, существуют некоторые ограничения на импорт и экспорт, финансовая сфера находится в нестабильной состоянии. Уровень проблемных кредитов продолжает оставаться высоким.

6 простых шагов для покупки компании

  1. Выбрать страну

  2. Выбрать банк

  3. Оплатить любым способом

  4. Отправка документов

  5. Регистрация компании

  6. Открытие банковского счета

Преимущества

  1. Самая низкая в ЕС минимальная ставка уставного капитала, с целью получения ВНЖ;
  2. Учредителем и владельцем компании может быть иностранец, даже при отсутствии ВНЖ;
  3. Экспресс-регистрация – занимает 2 дня;
  4. Низкие налоговые ставки;
  5. Возможно ведение бизнеса в свободных экономических зонах: Мадейра, Азорские острова;
  6. Свободное передвижение по Европе;
  7. В последнем списке стран по индексу восприятия коррупции Португалия заняла 29-е место, опередив Испанию, Италию, Израиль и Китай;
  8. Входит в ТОП-10 самых безопасных стран мира;
  9. Цены соответствуют качеству. Это касается услуг и товаров.

Типы компаний

В Португалии существуют следующие типы компаний:

  1. Акционерная корпорация (или компания) открытого типа - Sociedade Anónima – S.A.
  2. Компания закрытого типа - Sociedade por Quotas – Lda.
  3. Компания с единственным акционером - Estabelecimento Individual de Responsabilidade Limitada – EIRL

Процедура регистрации

Название компании проверяется в Национальном реестре коллективных предприятий (Registro Nacional de Pessoas Colectivas, RNPC). Доступное имя можно зарезервировать на срок до 48 часов при условии оплаты комиссии. Кроме того, предварительно утвержденное имя может быть выбрано из базы данных RNPC.

Чтобы получить свидетельство о регистрации, учредители юридического лица должны подать заявление с приложением устава и свидетельства об утверждении названия, не позднее, чем через 15 дней с момента регистрации. Португальские власти предоставят номер корпоративного налога, социального страхования компании и декларацию о начале предпринимательской деятельности. Сотрудники организации должны быть зарегистрированы в Centros de Formalidades das Empresas или в офисах регистрации предприятий за 24 часа до начала своей деятельности или не позднее чем через 10 дней после объявления о начале деятельности.

Инспекция труда должна уведомляться об открытии новой компании. Регистрация для страхования сотрудников от несчастных случаев осуществляется онлайн в частной страховой компании и не может распространяться на лиц, не получающих зарплату.

Налогообложение

Страна не относится к офшором или мидшором; обладает высокими ставками налогов.

Налог на прибыль предприятий (IRC, Imposto sobre o Rendimento das Pessoas Colectivas)

Взымается с компаний-резидентов. Учитывается прирост капитала, т. к. сбор не вынесен в отдельную графу. Также учитывают прибыль филиалов и других постоянных представительств в юрисдикции.

Схема расчёта:

  1. Стандартная ставка – 21%.
  2. Дополнительно насчитывается муниципальная надбавка – 1,5%.

К итоговой сумме добавляется государственная надбавка, которая рассчитывается по прогрессивной шкале: 0% (доход до 1,5 млн EUR) / 3% (очередные 6 млн EUR) / 5% (остаток). Это означает, что максимальная ставка будет равна 31,5% при условии, что доход компании превышает 7,5 млн EUR.

Налог на прирост капитала

В Португалии отсутствует налог на прирост капитал, или засчитывается в сумму облагаемой налогом прибыли.

Операционные убытки

Убытки по действующему законодательству могут быть перенесены на будущие периоды (максимум – на 5 лет), при отсутствии превышения 3/4 от налогооблагаемой прибыли. В некоторых случаях это допускается после личного одобрения министра финансов.

Дивиденды

Если дивиденды выплачены и получены компаниями-резидентами, они освобождаются от налогообложения. Единственное прописанное в законе условие касается транспарентного статуса (получатель не должен им обладать) и владения минимум 10% капитала структуры-плательщика (срок – 1 год).

НДС (IVA / VAT, Imposto sobre o Valor Acrescentado / Value Added Tax)

Классический НДС взымается с поставки товаров и услуг, их импорта (в случае, если страна их происхождения не является членом ЕС), международных услуг в самой Португалии и покупки товаров из других участников Евросоюза. Законом предусмотрено 3 ставки: стандартная (23%), усреднённая (13%) и льготная (пониженная, 6%).

Допускается схема возвратной оплаты НДС (только для местных поставок, если они осуществляются компаниями-нерезидентами). Предусмотрены два варианта налоговых периодов НДС: 1 месяц (годовой оборот более 650 тыс. EUR) и 1 квартал (если сумма меньше).

Ежемесячные декларации сдаются до числа следующего за отчётным месяца, ежеквартальные подают к 15 дню.

Налог на пассивные доходы (налог у источника)

К налогам на пассивные доходы относят дивиденды, проценты и лицензионные отчисления, а также роялти. Специального налога на подобные виды доходов в Португалии нет. Фискальные органы рассчитывают сборы по правилам корпоративного налога (для физических лиц – как IRS). Величина отчислений зависит от статуса плательщика и вида дохода.

Ставки:

  1. Дивиденды, проценты для компании-нерезидента – 25%.
  2. Дивиденды, проценты для нерезидентов (если их собственная юрисдикция относится к низконалоговым) – 35%.
  3. Роялти в пользу нерезидента – 25%.
  4. Технические услуги – 25%.

Допускается полное освобождение от выплат, если это оговорено директивами Евросоюза и двусторонними соглашениями, позволяющими избежать двойного налогообложения.

Отчетность

В соответствии с требованиями законодательства, значительная часть коммерческих компаний в Португалии обязана подавать годовые финансовые отчеты. Передача данных происходит в электронном или бумажном виде. В зависимости от активов, оборота, количества работников, сферы деятельности и организационно-правовой формы предприятия, закон предписывает различный объем публикуемой информации.

Подача годовой отчетности в Португалии регулируется Коммерческим кодексом и другими нормативными актами.

Международные стандарты финансовой отчетности (МСФО) могут применяться ко всем компаниям, однако представители малого бизнеса могут выбирать между МСФО и национальными стандартами.

Финансовые отчеты в Португалии подаются в Коммерческий реестр, находящийся у Института регистрации и нотариата (в официальных документах – «система раскрытия информации»).

Публиковать финансовую отчетность обязаны:

  1. публичные компании;
  2. компании с ограниченной ответственностью;
  3. компании, ценные бумаги которых продаются на бирже.

Финансовая отчетность коммерческих компаний должна быть подана в течение четырех месяцев после завершения финансового года. Три месяца дается на проведение собрания акционеров, утверждающего отчет, и месяц – на саму подачу отчета.

За несвоевременную подачу отчетности предусмотрена официальная ответственность – штраф до 5 млн. евро или ликвидация компании.

Полный годовой отчет предприятия включает:

  1. финансовый отчет;
  2. отчет руководства;
  3. заявление должностных лиц компании о соответствии раскрытой информации реальному положению дел;
  4. приложения;
  5. данные относительно юридической аттестации счетов;
  6. мнение надзорного органа;
  7. аудиторский отчет.

Финансовый отчет включает:

  1. бухгалтерский баланс;
  2. отчет о прибылях и убытках;
  3. примечания.

Важное

Календарный год в Португалии совпадает с налоговым. У компаний-резидентов есть важная привилегия: они могут запросить Министерство финансов на предмет смещения сроков (если на то есть уважительные причины).

IRC должен быть оплачен в течение 5-месячного срока, считая от даты окончания налогового года. Предоплата производится на основании налоговой суммы за предыдущий год к 7, 9 и 12 месяцам.

Существуют ограничения по налоговым вычетам, определяющим чистую стоимость финансирования до момента достижения действующих лимитов – 3 млн EUR или 30% заработка (с дополнительными условиями).

Остались вопросы? Заполните контактную форму, и мы свяжемся с Вами в ближайшее время